Growing Up!

Saturday’s Showcase SketchesI have a little time before I set off to my team and mine works leaving do party/ceremony!  Therefore, I thought I would share a short poem with you.  The poem I have chosen is part of a scrapbook poetry book I put together from 1992-current day (all written by me); some of the poems are very very raw and some a little refined and some even are cringe worthy that I want to re-work them -but I shan’t.  I will share these poems here every, now and again.  This poem is called Growing Up and was published in an anthology; the details can be found here: published works.

(As always, there is a pdf document at the bottom of the post for those who may find this a difficult read.)

GROWING UP!

Growing up is such a drag,

following the trend is being sad.

Having many things to do;

be it at home or at school.

Parents shouting all the time,

sometimes you just want to willow and die.

Getting heartache from everyone,

not knowing when there won’t be none.

Having trouble at school,

not knowing what to do.

Crying yourself to sleep at nights,

no one cares, no one’s in sight.

Holding onto memories,

that may not never ever be…

Seeing yourself old and grey,

is growing up all it’s cracked up to be?

Öζιξμ

Written 22/11/1995

Copyright © Ozlem Yikici 2011 & Copyright © doodllz™ 2011. All Rights Reserved.

***

Below the poem, I have scribbled the following ‘thoughts that came to my mind after academic difficulties‘.  This set me thinking…  We all have similar experiences, at that time I expressed it through poetry (I was the ever dramatic back then too it seems!  -there is no need to agree with me! *pouts*); what was your outlet, if any?  What did you struggle with -what helped you through it?  I would love to hear from you.  As you already know, thoughts and comments are encouraged as always -even if it is just a word -as all good discussions start with just one word.

Pdf document:  Growing Up!

~ by yikici on July 2, 2011.

6 Responses to “Growing Up!”

  1. “is growing up all it’s cracked up to be?”.. Good question.. I’d like to think otherwise of course, but I certainly sympathise with this position..

    • Thank you Pat. I too agree that growing up is great but at the time I obviously had ‘other’ ideas! 🙂

  2. Hah. I like it. 🙂 My outlet is also poetry and when I say outlet I mean write a notebook per day outlet especially if I am: angry, upset, or in love. Whenever I am calm though, there is no rhyme in sight, lol. So yeah… poetry is just one of those things that we condition sometimes, nobody knows why. In the end, it’s an excellent way to vent and express yourself.

    • 🙂 Yes I used to do that alot too (though not so much now); I have now come to a stage in my life where I can write in a calm manner -like the last poem for the flash fiction challange Moon of Change – The Prologue & The Epilogue -I am certain you will get there too -it’s only a matter of time!

      I agree, poetry -or even writing is fab for venting all emotions and letting it out of your system -I guess it’s good therapy too in some ways! 😀

  3. Growing up can be so hard. And it never really ends because we never stop growing and learning…or we should never stop.

    • Indeed! Growing and learning is fun! It’s a challenge to weave through what life throws at us; perseverence pays, giving up fails…

Comments are closed.

 
