My New Goal: ROW80 -What’s it all About? (Updated)

Thursday’s Topical Tête-à-Tête:  I had another idea for today’s post; something-meaty to discuss (copyright), unfortunately I have been feeling a little poorly therefore I have decided to talk about my personal writing goal instead.  I have just set it today; in effect, it is my own topical tête- à -tête –however, I sense there are a few writers out there who may also share my enthusiasm.  So what is it I hear you ask.  Well…I found out about this challenge via Sonia G. Medeiros‘ blog.  It piqued my interest so now I am taking part in ROW80 (Round of Words in 80 Days)!  It’s a personal challenge (yep I know, another challenge -but it’s of a different kind) this is for writers to stay motivated and reach their writing goals (and boy do I need one of those!).  All who takes part actively shares their progress and encourages fellow writers to keep to their goals.  Wow! Wow! Wow!  This is something definitely worth taking part in!  Essentially, the aim is to set manageable goals for yourself for the next 80 days.  For more in-depth details check out the ROW80 website.

(As always there is a pdf document at the bottom of the post for those who may find this a difficult read.)

For this little project (that’s what I’ll call it) I will start working on my current work-in-progress (current word count is 9856).  I stopped working on it for a little while (due to commitments to the blog and also a wee bit of loss-of-enthusiasm), I mentioned this in a post I wrote a while back here I speak about how I had solved the issue of inconsistent history in my very first chapter!  Needless to say, I lost heart and found salvage in my blog posts (even though I had worked out the problem!).  I think amending chapters one, two and three freaked me out somewhat -yes a case of eak and double Eak!  Now it is time to rise to the challenge set -I can do this -I really really can do this, I really really REALLY CAN do this!  (Where’s the encouragement people?!!!)  I take a brave step and an oath…  I solemnly swear…etc…

Here are my writing goals (these may change/vary as I continue on with my life; if it does, I will let you know):

  • I will rework the first three chapters (oooer feeling panicky already -guys step in at any moment).
  • I will write a minimum of 500 words per five days a week -aiming for 27,500.00 words (take a deep breath (I did) -yep this is manageable).
  • Each day I will set aside a 15-30 minute editing session, before I start my writing; reworking the previous day’s works (also a ploy to get myself back into the flow of things).

I have a busy two days ahead (Thursday and Friday) so I plan to start ROW80 (the project) on Saturday 9th July 2011.  Please feel free to keep the motivation going -I plan to seek motivation on Twitter via #writegoal, #wordmongering and my fave #MyWANA!  Join me!  Oh and if you are a writer and want to take part, join us!  It will be a lot of fun and the accomplishment will be just GREAT!

UPDATE:

I believe I did not think things through properly; what with all the switching rooms (see details here); I really do not have enough time to sit down and work on my WIP.  I have managed to make sense of my (now) bedroom and today (Sunday 10th July 2011) I aim to put some order to my new office/art space so I am not sure if I will be working on my WIP (if I do, I will be letting you all know on Twitter via #writegoal, #wordmongering and #MyWANA).  Therefore, I think I should issue a new start date: Monday 11th July 2011 (I love the number 11 so I think that is a good omen); keep an eye out for my updates, I aim to post them through one of the following days: Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays or Saturdays (depending how I feel).  That is it for now; I will be back with my muse on Monday.  Have a fab weekend!

***

Copyright © Ozlem Yikici 2011 & Copyright © doodllz™ 2011. All Rights Reserved.

***

If you want to share your thoughts; by all means do so:  As I always say ‘all good discussions start with just one word‘.

Pdf. document:  My New Goal – ROW80 -What’s it all About

Pdf. document:  My New Goal – ROW80 -What’s it all About (Update)

~ by yikici on July 7, 2011.

25 Responses to “My New Goal: ROW80 -What’s it all About? (Updated)”

  1. “Do you take this MS…” Tam tam ta dam. — Sorry! I couldn’t resist, I’m in a funny mood today. *sigh* OKAY, I’m excited for you and yes, YOU CAN DO IT. Your goals are awesome and I wish you luck!!! I was thinking of joining but… as always, I’m in the same boat as you are… finding my solace away from my book. Ugh. I have to go back to it… have to… okay, I’ll let you know if I go on a crazy challenge spree but until then: YOU CAN DO IT! ^_^

    • lol! Funny moods are just great -I love them!!! You can be funny all the time! 😉

      Thank you for the words of encouragements -I CAN do it!!! -So can you!!! Come on Violeta join me in my quest -lets tackle our novels together -after all thats what twins are meant to do right? 😀

  2. Yeah – great goals! I wish I had time to participate in this so I will just be a cheerleader!

    • Sara thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuu! I wonder if I have time too (see my update above); but I refuse to let that deter me! I will make time! 🙂

  3. There’s definitely value in taking time away from your MIP but, when you need to get back into it, the public goal proclaiming can be quite helpful. I got way off track. I started doubting my MIP and myself. Time to get back on the horse. I’ll be right there with you too. 😀

    • Fab-tas-tic! A group effort is far better than a lone ranger! Keep an eye out for my encouragements! 🙂

  4. Yay… so glad you are taking part Oz. My goal is 500 words a day. I’m a whole 4 days in and so-far-so-good (do you think I am getting ahead of myself). Good luck with it.

    • Jody that is excellent! You are doing a fab job!!! I hope to follow suit soon(ish). Thank you and good luck to you too -I will pop by shortly 😀

  5. I haven’t worked on a novel yet where I didn’t come to some point and say, “Oh, crap. That doesn’t *work*.” Sometimes it’s a big “oh crap,” sometimes it’s a little “oh crap.” But you said it yourself in your earlier post: Working through the problems makes your novel better. That doesn’t mean that fixing the broken bits doesn’t suck, but the end product will shine. You can do it!

  6. I’m taking part in ROW80 too 🙂 Your goals sound great, and I’m confident you’ll be able to reach them.

    I’m co-writing a novel right now, and we’re in the editing stage. I’ve been struggling with finding the time/energy at the end of a couple months of very long days to work on it, so I set the goal of editing one chapter a day.

    • Thank you Marcy for your belief in me -I hope I too believe in myself! 🙂

      Co-writing a novel must be tricky (I am co-writing two stories with a friend on DiRosaYikici and at times a difference of an opinion can be challenging!) therefore, I salute you both. 😀 Your goal seems manageable too! Good luck with it!

  7. Good luck to you! I hope you are feeling better soon. I am doing my summer novel writing challenge which is similar. I have gone off track this week but hope to get back into the rhythm and reach my goals again soon. You can do this!

    • Thank you Billie Jo! I haven’t started yet (see above reasonings) but hopefully tomorrow. I can see how easily it is to go off track 😦 I wish you the bestest luck -I know you can achieve your goals too! 😀

  8. You can do it, even with the re-adjustment. I’ll be around, happy to give encouragement whenever necessary 😀 My week has been a total washout as far as words written goes, I only really started today, so don’t worry. Sometimes life gets in the way. That’s how it goes. You’ll be fine – Sonia is right, the more time you take away from a project, the harder it is to get back in. That’s why I’ve had such a hard time getting started on mine – only managed to crowbar my way back into it today!

    • Anne-Mhaihiri you are a lovely twinkly star who has just filled me with a great more deal of hope! Thank you!!! 😀 I appreciate that sometimes life can surprise us and get in the way -I guess that’s when willpower needs to step in and make us commit to what we promised ourselves! I will shout ‘help me I’m sinking!’ to grab your attention 😛 Thank you again and yes I agree Sonia is right but we will get there -I believe that! 🙂

  9. There’s another aspect to #ROW80 that will also help you stay on track! You use this: http://www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=97101&type=basic

    You click where it says “You’re Next Click here to Enter” and put in a link to your blog. Then you click where it says get code. It automagically updates links to every one who adds their ROW80 blog post updates. You put the code into your post at the bottom. See mine: http://eawestwriting.blogspot.com/2011/07/row80-check-in-2-when-plans-go-awry-you.html

    We all update on Wednesdays and Sundays (though you can update anytime between then, the linkytools stays open until the next check in day, that’s when a new one opens up.) You can find the link on the check in posts of http://aroundofwordsin80days.wordpress.com/ I subscribed to the main blog, so it comes in my email, also reminding me to check in. 🙂

    It really helps everyone keep tabs on the others, post encouraging posts and comments.

    Good luck to you on your round! I’m publishing a book during mine. 🙂

    • Thank you for the lovely words of encouragement and also the info (I’ve subscribed too); I’ve done all of the above but was having difficulties in adding the code -now I can see how it’s meant to be done (I tried to add it into the sidebar -ooops! Let me add that link now… -For some reason it does not work on wordress blogs (or maybe just my blog) -if there is a solution please let me know. Thank you for being extremely informative and good luck to you too -I will pop by soon(ish)! 😀

  10. I love that this challenge is so flexible. It fits our needs and our lives. You’re doing great! Hang in there.

  11. You have been one I have been watching and will continue to do. It is because of you I found ROW80 so thank you so much! I am excited to see what you do starting the 11th. Adjust and keep on going is my motto!

    KP

    • Oh thank you KP -I am glad you found ROW80; I hope it is working well for you too and thank you for the support 😀

  12. Welcome to Row 80! I’m so glad that Sonia was able to lure you into our fabulous group.

    Best of luck with your goals – I can’t wait to check back and see your progress.

  13. ROW80 has helped me a lot – and a great thing about it is the goals are flexiable depending on if life is slapping you around the face with a wet fish or shining its sunshine all around – there is no failure just acheivment so good for isolated confidence – welcome aboard

    • Thank you Alberta and I am enjoying the flexibility (as I’ve needed plenty these past weeks).

Comments are closed.

 
