Earthquakes – How They Changed My Outlook

Saturday’s Showcase SketchesI have a relatively busy day today (I am in the midst of rearranging rooms and creating an office/art space in the spare room -maybe this will give me reason to start painting again!) therefore, this is going to a short(ish) post.  I have some good news that I also want to share before getting onto the actual post.  I have been asked to contribute towards a newsletter (I will let you know which newsletter it is in a future post when the article is ready to be seen) so I am really excited about that!  I also will be starting (hopefully) my ROW80 goal today so I am looking forward to that too -get ready for some Twitter #wordgoal and #wordmongering -if you have time this evening why don’t you join me too? 😀  Now back to the post, today I want to share one of my favourite paintings’ with you; albeit it is not a new piece (it was painted in the year 2000 for my Degree Show); however I feel this epitomizes my current situation in life; a change is coming…

(As always, there is a pdf document at the bottom of the post for those who may find this a difficult read.)

About the Exhibition

How do you attempt to portray what you felt when you thought you were faced with death?  It’s almost impossible, words, images are rarely enough to explain what you went through, it only scratches the surface of something so deep, so emotional…  Keeping this in mind, I have attempted to’re-present’ my feelings of the day of 17th August 1999.  The day nature played a cruel trick on the people in Turkey, the day I realised life was precious, the day the earth shook at precisely 03:02am, the day that could have been my last…  The floors were covered in red tiles that were once the roof of buildings…

Copyright © Ozlem Yikici 2000 & Copyright © doodllz™ 2000. All Rights Reserved.

Öζιξμ

Exhibited 2000 -as part of my Degree Show at University College Chichester

___

This is just a taster of the exhibition; when I have a bit more time I will exhibit the whole exhibition here I will include detailed thoughts on what I wanted to portray.  In the meantime, I will leave you with this thought; earthquakes are scary occurrences’ but also a part of the world we live in, the exhibition I presented was not focusing on the despair of the natural disaster but a message of hope.  I wonder if you can guess how I incorporated hope into the sadness of such a ferocious activity.  I would love to hear from you.  As you already know, thoughts and comments are encouraged as always -even if it is just a word -as all good discussions start with just one word.

Copyright © Ozlem Yikici 2011 & Copyright © doodllz™ 2011. All Rights Reserved.

***

Thoughts and comments are encouraged as always.

Pdf document:  Earthquakes – How They Changed My Outlook

~ by yikici on July 9, 2011.

7 Responses to “Earthquakes – How They Changed My Outlook”

  1. Wow – that is a fascinating piece from your exhibition. I look forward to the rest that you are going to post.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, I’m very happy you liked the painting (it’s a personal favourite and it’s not everyone’s cup of tea -so any takers and it pleases me.); I hope to post the rest of the exhibition up soon(ish) -haven’t decided if it’s best one at a time or all at once -lets see what I feel like doing! 😀

  2. […] believe I did not think things through properly; what with all the switching rooms (see details here), I really do not have enough time to sit down and work on my WIP.  I have managed to make sense […]

  3. I like the movement in this artwork. I like how the curves converge with the other geometrical patterns.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment BatAmi 🙂 I’m glad that the movement comes across as intended 😀

  4. Wow, that’s a powerful image. Thank you for sharing it and the story behind it.

Comments are closed.

 
