Challenge Taken: Ferocious Fireworks

Saturday’s Showcase Sketches:  

I’m a wee bit behind schedule today (should have finished this yesterday), my muse deserted me last night -of all the times she should be doing that! *not speaking to her now* -punishment comes to mind *evil grin* -ok, ok I take that back *apologetic smile* I know I know I have my WIP’ to think about too *grumbles*.  Now that that’s all cleared *ahem* let’s get back to the matter at hand; today’s post.  Since Wednesday I have been thinking about the challenge Ken Broad set (all those delightful pictures!); it’s only come together yesterday and today (just), I’m still wondering if it reads ok (been experimenting as usual).  Please feel free to share your honest thoughts.

If you are wondering about my ROW80 goals, I will provide an update following the challenge and flash fiction below.

(As always, there is a pdf document at the bottom of the post for those who may find this a difficult read.)

The challenge is as follows:

Here are the rules for Ken Broad’ challenge (in his words):

  1. Have Fun
  2. Each month I will find 4 photos to post. Your job (should you dare) to write a story of no more than 500 words in any genre that might be inspired by one of the pictures.
  3. If rule 2 isn’t working for you, please refer to rule 1.
  4. New extra rule, use one or all (or somewhere in-between) of the photos. If in doubt on how to proceed, please refer to rule 1 as well.

***

The chosen image(s) will be displayed as I see appropriate.  Incidentally, the word count is 360 (with the title it is 364).  Enjoy!

FEROCIOUS FIREWORKS

I cannot believe how easily I swayed Meena’s parents; well, I was naive not to consider the impeding war on their doorstep.  They wanted her safe, how ironic…

Image sourced from: http://farm1.static.flickr.com

I gritted my teeth and exhaled slowly as the plane hit another cloud –turbulence!  I jolted in my seat.  I should have opted for the long drive back to the city rather than this rickety plane –it seemed to be on it’s last legs why did I agree to this!

Meena looked over the side, amazed at what she saw…

did the plane just tip –or was that my paranoia?  Great!  That’s all we need –I knew the safari journey had to be better than this.

I gently pulled Meena back onto my lap.  The pilot had specifically said no movements.

I closed my eyes…

Image sourced from: http://farm4.static.flickr.com

I remember the joy filled curiosity in Meena’ eyes when I first took her to Piccadilly Circus –she stood still momentarily as she watched the happy chaos that was unfolding around her, the illuminating neon lights, the electronic billboards displaying various advertisements, the statue of Eros, the cars, the people, the animated crowd.  She looked up and gave me a huge warm smile, it melted my heart –I had made the right choice, she was happy, content and safe.

Image sourced from: http://farm4.static.flickr.com

There must be something more you can do!”  My eyes pleaded to the surgeon.

“I’m sorry…we did all we can.”

I blinked; moisture flowed down my face in silent torrents.

These words could not be…

…be true to my sweet…

no –she was going to be fine!

He just…

…he’s just…

My thoughts faltered as the world shook around me –no that was me; trembling at the acknowledgement of the truth.  My legs gave way.

How could I…

…what would I…

…where could I…

Image sourced from: http://farm5.static.flickr.com

It was just moments ago, we were watching fireworks –bonfire night had come so soon; we planned to visit her parents…

Safe –how ironic!

Those kids should have been supervised!

Isn’t there an age restriction on those!

Of all the dangerous things out there –my Meena’…

Hysteria shook me as I left the morgue…

My sweet child…how I was wrong…

Copyright © Ozlem Yikici 2011 & Copyright © doodllz™ 2011. All Rights Reserved.

ROW80 UPDATE:

Since Wednesday’s check-in I hoped to wow you my good intentions and spot-on targets -you noticed huh?  Hoped -yep, that implies unlikely results -ho hum…  I blame the lovely warm weather and my disorientation from my extended stay over at Katie and Neil (see Wednesday’s post).

What I have actually achieved: 

Well, let’s see, I have not even typed a single character on Becoming or even the WIP2 -maybe tonight -I hope I do so tonight *wishful thinking*.  I have; however written three blog posts (word counts: 1303, 630 and 1022 respectively -so I mustn’t grumble) and updated my various profiles on the world wide web (Twitter , Google+ , LinkedIn , Goodreads , NetworkedBlogs and Facebook) -yep I’ve been networking!.  I guess thats still a positive thing -though I seriously need to focus -guys where are you?!!  *peers out across through the screen*.  I have also wandered across to a few ROW80 superstars and parted words of encouragements (I’m glad to have fit that in amongst all the chaos -yay!)   Upcoming Plans:  Within the coming week I hope to have kicked the mental blank that is happening with my projects, I will also be adding (hopefully -I know I have been saying that for a while) a storyline to the ongoing saga over at DiRosaYikici.  Resident guest blogger Patrick Tulley will be about tomorrow and my next post will be on Tuesday where I will be issuing you with another Triptych Challenge and also collating all the entries for you to read (you are in for a treat!) -you still have time to enter just check out the prompts over here.  Till then have fun!

Copyright © Ozlem Yikici 2011 & Copyright © doodllz™ 2011. All Rights Reserved.

***

Did I achieve the challenge set? What gets your creativity flowing?  How are your ROW80 goals going?  Down in the dumps or are you soaring high in the sky?  As you already know, thoughts and comments are encouraged as always -even if it is just a word -‘as all good discussions start with just one word‘.

Pdf document:  Ferocious Fireworks

~ by yikici on July 30, 2011.

7 Responses to “Challenge Taken: Ferocious Fireworks”

  1. Hi Oz,

    Very interesting story! I hadn’t thought it was possible to use all the photos in one story. Yet again you proved me wrong 🙂

    I missed the shift the first time through (I’m working on a car and it is giving me problems, so I blame it!) but when I read it the second time I made prefect sense.

    Sad, but wonderful. Thanks so much for joining in.

    • I’m glad you liked it -I was concerned that it may not flow well -I was hoping for readers to think ‘what is going on’ and try to work it out themselves -I’m relieved to hear 2nd time round it made sense (I’m glad you wanted to re-read it!) 😀

      Once again it was great taking part -a toughie this time -but challenges are challenges I am determined they will not beat me -though I was close to calling it a day on that after my initial thoughts of bedtime stories fell through… ah well… it wasn’t meant to be -or was it! lol!

      Thanks for a great challenge!

  2. Progress is progress. You seem to have a lot of pots on the fire (speaking from experience *smiles*). One thing I do to ensure I get the WIP count is to double it up with 750words.com. If you’ve heard of “morning pages” this site is essentially that, but can be done anytime and used for anything. Before I go on I’ll pick a subject, scene or blog topic and free write/first draft it on 750words. This way, even if the rest of the day is chaos, I have 30 minutes where I wrote.

    Have a great coming week and best of luck with all your endeavors 🙂

    • Aaaa that sounds interesting a doable -I certainly need something to focus as you have rightly pointed out I have

      ‘a lot of pots on the fire’

      I will check that out -thank you Gene! You are also right about progress being progress so I will keep my chin up. 😀

  3. I will chime in with Gene–progress is progress! I need to become more than a blank screen on my various social media, as well.

    It is hard to keep all the plates spinning at the same time. Sometimes, you just have to let one or two leave the brain for a little while.

    I hope your various plans go well this next week!

    • Thank you Nancy! 😀 I personally think I’m having a social media meltdown!!! So much out there -it’s hard to keep up -though writing must be my goal or else its all pointless! I hope you get your head round all this better than I am currently! 🙂

  4. […] Ferocious Fireworks by Ozlem Yikici […]

Comments are closed.

 
